In this article, we will discuss how to delete Shopify account Permanently in a step-by-step guide. Without wasting your time, let’s get started.
It’s possible that you might be facing difficulties managing your Shopify account and have been considering leaving the Shopify business by canceling your monthly subscription.
Don’t worry, Shopify allows you to permanently delete your account.
Here is a complete step-by-step guide on how to permanently delete your Shopify account.
Before You Delete Shopify Account: Important Points to Consider
Resolve Pending Payments
It’s crucial to remember that any unpaid debts must be settled before you decide to permanently delete your Shopify account.
If you close your online store before paying all the outstanding debts, you can still get a bill even after the store is closed. To avoid any surprises later, make sure all payments are made before ending your account.
Backup Your Store Data
When you decide to delete your Shopify store permanently, it doesn’t mean that you won’t need any of your store’s data in the future. It’s a good idea to back up your Shopify store before you proceed with the permanent deletion. This way, you can ensure that you have a copy of all the important information and data in case you need it later on.
You can export CSV files to back up:
- Product data
- Customer data
- Order data
- Financial data
- Discount and gift card codes
- Billing history
Cancel All Third-Party App Subscriptions
When you close your Shopify account, it’s essential to know that it won’t automatically cancel any subscriptions you might have with third-party app providers. It doesn’t work that way. To avoid any surprise charges on your credit card after deactivating your Shopify admin, make sure to individually cancel each app subscription. Taking this step will ensure you won’t be billed for any services you no longer wish to use.
Step 1: Go to your Shopify Admin Panel -> Settings -> Apps and sales channels.
Step 2: Select Apps one by one and click on Uninstall Button.
Step 3: In the dialog box, Click on Uninstall button.
Important Considerations for Your Domain
If you bought your website’s custom domain through Shopify, you can move it to a different service provider. However, if you purchased the name from a third-party vendor, you can utilize your Shopify admin to delete your custom domain from the store before closing your account.
This step is essential since failing to do so could result in the permanent seizure of your domain. It won’t be usable elsewhere because it will be marked as “Unavailable” on the Shopify domain checker.
Last but not least, to prevent any unexpected fees, remember to disable the auto-renewal of your custom domain using your domain registrar’s hosting site after permanently deleting your Shopify store.
How To Delete Shopify Account
Step 1: Go to Settings -> Plan.
Step 2: Click Deactivate store.
Step 3: If you still want to deactivate, then click Deactivate Store.
Step 4: Select a reason for the deactivation, and then click Continue.
Step 5: Enter your password, and then click Deactivate now.
You receive an email confirmation stating that your store has been deactivated. However, you still have the option to reopen your store or review your previous bills, and the data of your store is guaranteed for 2 years.
You might like this: Building Dynamic Sections in Shopify